— Oceans Digital F.A.Q —

Can I forage from the Reef if my species does not have a forage icon?

Yes. A species that does not have any green icons automatically gets a forage value of 1. Likewise, a species that does not have any red icons automatically gets an attack value of 1.

When I play my first trait with a forage icon, do I add the forage icon number to the automatic forage value of 1?

No. A species automatically gets a forage value of 1 only if it does not have any traits with a forage icon. Likewise, a species automatically gets an attack value of 1 only if it does not have any traits with an attack icon.

Does a species go extinct when it ends a turn with zero population?

No. A species only goes extinct during your aging phase if it does not have enough population to age the entire amount. If a species is supposed to age 2 population, but only has 1 population, it will score 1 population and then go extinct.

Can I play a Speed on a species that already has 3 traits?

Yes. You may play any trait that says “May have 1 extra trait” on a species that already has the maximum number of traits.

What happens if there is a timing issue with triggered events?

If multiple players have triggered events, resolve them in turn order starting with the current player. If a player has multiple effects that trigger at the same time, that player may choose the order.

May I use my bonus scoring token to pay for Deep cards?

No. The Bonus Tokens are only used for the end-game scoring.

May a species be adjacent to itself if it is the only species in play?

No.

When a species forages from an Ocean zone and it runs out of population, do you take population from the next Ocean zone?

No. You only do that when a species gains.

Can I rearrange the order of my species boards?

No.

Is there a limit to the number of species a player can have?

No.